top of page
Search

De-Nissan

This post will be about my second car, the replacement of the mobbing Mazda. I was inspired by the car my mom had at the time which was a Volkswagen Passat. I had really grown to like how easy it was on road trips with great fuel economy, large trunk, and a nice large back seat so everyone was comfortable on long trips. So after the death of the Mazda I took the insurance money plus some money I had saved up and began searching, after a few weeks I found a beautiful pearl white 2014 Nissan Altima that was to be named De-nissan in tribute to the fallen Mobbing Mazda Denice. It had all the features I wanted great mpg, blind spot monitoring, back up camera, gps, and so much more. This Nissan Altima was a huge milestone purchase for me as it was the first car I bought on my own. My ownership over the next two and half years went pretty smooth, I didn't have too many unexpected maintenance items over the next 40k miles I added to the odometer. The only big downside of this car was after about a year after buying it I found out it had been in an unreported accident and the repair work wasn’t the best as the paint work started to chip. But throughout my ownership the car was great, I got to use it on many road trips to places like Vegas, Big Bear, Lake Havasu, and so many others. Out of all the cars I have owned one thing I definitely miss about De-Nissan was the almost 40 mpg I got on long drives, since that car most of my vehicles struggle to break 25 mpg. While the Nissan was not terribly fast it still was quick enough to give me a little fun, while I was missing driving manual. The second problem I ran into was I started to hear about transmission problems that Nissan was famous for, so shortly after reading more about the problems I decided to sell the car before I experienced any the problems for myself. I had overpaid for this car so I took a decent loss when I sold the car but I learned some valuable lessons that I used in later car purchases and that helped those cars to be profitable. Some of the important lessons I learned was how to read people better and verify the story they are telling you about a used car, red flags to pay closer attention too, where to look to help figure out if a car has been in an accident, and lastly to do more research on problems a car is known for. Overall it was a great car, while I wouldn't recommend buying a Nissan because their transmission problems still need to be figured out, I am still glad that i had the car for the time i did.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vicy

bottom of page